Fan Club


2023 FanDuel Racing-NTRA Moment of the Year Voting Open

LEXINGTON, KY. (Jan. 3, 2024) Thirteen of the most unforgettable, exciting, and significant events from Thoroughbred racing in North America last year have been nominated for the 2023 FanDuel Racing-NTRA Moment of the Year, a distinction determined by fan voting and recognized at the Eclipse Awards. Voting is now open on the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) website,, and via Twitter, where every retweet or use of the official hashtag for the moments as presented on the @NTRA account will be counted as one vote.

To vote on the NTRA website, go HERE.

Fans are permitted to vote for multiple moments but there is a limit of one vote per moment for each Twitter account. Subsequent votes from an account will be disqualified. Votes for the poll must be submitted by January 16 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).

The FanDuel Racing-NTRA Moment of the Year will be recognized during the 53rd Annual Eclipse Awards Presented by FanDuel, John Deere, Keeneland, and The Jockey Club at The Breakers Palm Beach in Florida on January 25, 2024.

The eligible 2023 moments were selected to illustrate the wide range of equine achievements and human emotions, as well as exceptional displays of athleticism. Events that fans can choose from are listed as follows, along with the designated hashtag that can be used to vote:

#FrankieHollywood – Frankie Dettori returns to California and had a very successful year at Santa Anita and on the West Coast in 2023, including a masterful win aboard Inspiral (GB) in the Maker’s Mark Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf. The 53-year-old Italian rider had announced his retirement and a farewell tour earlier in the year but ultimately decided to permanently move to the United States and continue his career in 2024.

#BigRedTour – The “Secretariat: Larger Than Life” Traveling Tour celebrates the 50th anniversary of Secretariat’s record-setting and historic Triple Crown sweep of 1973. The centerpiece of the yearlong Tour that started in early Spring was a 21-foot-long bronze monument of Secretariat, the largest monument of the great Virginia-born Thoroughbred.

#IradWins7 – Jockey Irad Ortiz, Jr. wins seven consecutive races at Gulfstream Park on February 3rd to equal the track’s record for most wins by a jockey on a card. Hall of Famer Jerry Bailey, Tyler Gaffalione, Luis Saez and Paco Lopez share the record.

#MageDerby – Mage surprises the field in the 149th Kentucky Derby and wins the Run for the Roses at 15-1. The son of Good Magic won his first race in January and won the Kentucky Derby presented by Woodford Reserve at Churchill Downs in just his fourth career start.

#TreasuredPreakness – National Treasure battles Blazing Sevens to the wire in a dramatic stretch duel to win the 148th Preakness Stakes by a head under John Velazquez at Pimlico Race Course. The 2023 Preakness Stakes, producing the closest finish of the three Triple Crown races, gave trainer Bob Baffert a record eighth win in the 1 3/16-mile race at Old Hilltop.

#ArcangeloBelmont – Arcangelo takes the Belmont Stakes, making trainer Jena Antonucci the first female trainer to win a Triple Crown race. The son of Arrogate defeated Eclipse Award Champion Forte.

#ArcangeloTravers – Arcangelo follows his historic win in the Belmont Stakes with a win in the prestigious Travers Stakes. His win in the “Midsummer Derby” in Saratoga was Arcangelo’s fourth in five 2023 starts and turned out to be the last race of his career before being added to Lane’s End’s stallion roster.

#CodyThrills – Cody’s Wish thrills the Breeders’ Cup crowd and his namesake, Cody Dorman, by winning the Big Ass Fans Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile for the second consecutive year. The 5-year-old son of Curlin edged Preakness winner National Treasure for owner/breeder Godolphin

#OliveAgain – Eclipse Award Champion Goodnight Olive repeats as winner of the PNC Bank Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint. Favored in the field of nine, the Ghostzapper mare defeated longshots Yuugiri (26-1) and Three Witches (34-1).

#ClassicWhite – Favored White Abarrio defeats Japan’s Derma Sotogake in the Longines Breeders’ Cup Classic at Santa Anita Park for trainer Rick Dutrow. Dutrow returned to training in February 2023 after a 10-year ban.

#EliteSprinter – Eclipse Award Champion Elite Power defeats familiar rival Gunite to collect his second consecutive Qatar Racing Breeders’ Cup Sprint. Owner Juddmonte Farms retired the 5-year-old son of Curlin to its stallion roster after the Breeders’ Cup.

#RiceRecord – Trainer Linda Rice sets a record on the last day of the year with her 165th training win on the New York Racing Association, Inc (NYRA) circuit in 2023. Rice topped the previous single-season NYRA record of 164 wins by trainer David Jacobson in 2013.

#RussellOnTop – Trainer Brittany Russell makes history by becoming the first female trainer to lead the annual trainer standings in Maryland. Russell, who is married to jockey Sheldon Russell, accomplished the feat in just her fourth full season as a trainer.

FanDuel Group is an innovative sports-tech entertainment company that is changing the way consumers engage with their favorite sports, teams, and leagues. The premier mobile gaming destination in the United States, FanDuel Group consists of a portfolio of leading brands across sports betting, iGaming, horse racing, advance-deposit wagering and daily fantasy sports. In addition, FanDuel Group operates FanDuel TV, its broadly distributed linear cable television network and FanDuel TV+, its leading direct-to-consumer OTT platform. FanDuel Group has a presence across all 50 states with approximately 17 million customers and 25 retail locations. FanDuel Group is a subsidiary of Flutter Entertainment plc, (LSE: FLTR) the world’s largest sports betting and gaming operator with a portfolio of globally recognized brands.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

Recent News:

4/19/23 – “Secretariat: Larger than Life” Traveling Tour to Celebrate 50th Anniversary of Historic Triple Crown

04/13/23 – Woodford Reserve $1,000 Mint Julep Honors 50th Anniversary of Secretariat’s Kentucky Derby

03/20/23 – Ragged Branch Distillery Celebrates Secretariat with Limited-Edition Bourbon

03/01/23Woodford Reserve Releases 2023 Kentucky Derby Bottle Celebrating 50th Anniversary of Secretariat

02/21/23 – Irsay Collection Acquires Secretariat’s Saddle from Historic Triple Crown Wins

09/01/22 – Park Honoring the Legendary Secretariat to be Built in Downtown Paris, Kentucky

Click Here for Archived News 


Signup for the newsletter For new announcements, merchandise updates and other excitement here at, please enter your email address in the popup window. Our mailing list is never sold or viewed by anyone other than